Groundsman marking a football pitch

Derbyshire Groundsmen Receive Their Rewards

Derbyshire FA
Derbyshire’s Groundsman of the Year winners rewarded for their hard work this season

Following the recent announcement of the Derbyshire Groundsman of the Year winners for 2017-18, the top 3 placed winners have now been presented with their rewards, courtesy of Fleet Line Markers Ltd.

We recently announced our top 3 placed Groundsmen for the 2017-18 season; Lee Watson from Clay Cross Town FC was named our winner, whilst Kevin Harlow from Hilton Harriers FC finished second and Phil Toy from Wingerworth Junior Sports Association finished third.

We work in partnership locally with Fleet Line Markers Ltd who supports the Derbyshire Groundsman Award winners with prizes which include a Kombi Line Marker machine, alongside various drums of Super C and Pitchmarker C paint. In addition, we also reward the winners with Fleet Line vouchers to benefit the pitches they look after.

Pictured in the photos are our 3 winners alongside Rob Wager, Area Sales Manager for Fleet Line Markers Ltd. 

Derbyshire County FA’s Head of Strategy & Facilities, Keely Brown said "We have had another fantastic response to this year’s Groundsman of the Year Awards and I would like to congratulate our 3 very worthy winners on their awards. I would also like to thank Rob Wager from Fleet Line Markers Ltd for again supporting our County Awards and supporting our grassroots volunteers once again."

All three winners will be invited to our Annual Awards Evening in September, but as the overall winner, Lee Watson, from Clay Cross Town FC, has been put forward as part of The FA’s National Awards in this category and we eagerly await the outcome over the next couple of months.

From all of us here, good luck Lee!

Related News

View All