The FA Coach Mentor Programme

FA Coach Mentor Programme

Offering on-the-ground support

This programme represents a major investment in the grassroots game and offers on-the-ground support to FA Charter Standard Clubs, leagues and target groups.

The FA sees the development of coaches as central to the development of the game, and working collaboratively accelerates learning and supports coaches’ development.

Mentoring support at a club could include:

  • Developing a whole club philosophy
  • Group coaching demonstrations
  • 1:1 coaching, match-day observation and support
  • Signposting to relevant courses and events
  • Needs analysis for individual coaches
  • Modelling of coaching sessions for individual coaches
  • Individual feedback
  • An individual learning programme

In 2015/16 the FA Coach Mentor Programme supported 9,383 coaches and 615 clubs.
FA Coach Mentor Programme FAQS

No. The FA Coach Mentor programme is a free FA initiative where a Coach Mentor can offer up to 100 hours of support per season.

Clubs that are keen to develop a positive coaching ethos, philosophy and develop their own in-house mentoring/coach support system.

Coaches can utilise this opportunity to start a legacy of positive coaching within their own clubs.

The FA Coach Mentor Programme is also committed to providing 5000 hours per season specifically to work with BAME, female and disabled coaches across the country.

If you are a BAME coach or working with BAME coaches/players and would like some support from one of our Coach Mentors, please contact Steve Smithies with your name, club name, age group and the County FA that you are affiliated to – steve.smithies@thefa.com.

If you are a female coach or working with female coaches/players and would like some support from one of our Coach Mentors, please contact Samantha Griffiths with your name, club name, age group and the County FA that you are affiliated to – samantha.griffiths@thefa.com.

If you are a coach with a disability and would like some support from one of our Coach Mentors, please contact Kevin England with your name, club name, age group and the County FA that you are affiliated to kevin.england@thefa.com.

The programme is open to FA Charter Standard Clubs who want support in their development. For more information please contact our FDO, Liam Rooney.

If you are interested in becoming an FA Coach Mentor please check our website for vacancies. If no vacancies are available contact the Regional Coach Mentor Officer in your region who can provide an update of the programme in and around your area.

Please note that there two application periods throughout the season - June and December.

Pre-requisites to become an FA Coach Mentor are:

  • Minimum FA Level 2 in Coaching Football
  • Member of The FA Licensed Coaches Club
  • Valid FA Criminal Record Check

Mentoring is about supporting and encouraging coaches to manage their own learning in order that they may maximise their potential, develop their skills, improve their performance and become the coach they want to be.


Mentoring is:

Developmental.
Holistic.
Focused on the other coaches needs.
Solution focused.
Long term.

Mentoring is not:

Fixing.
Defined by narrow outcomes.
One or two quick visits.
An older and wiser head telling you what to do.

 

This six hour course is aimed at grassroots coaches who wish to further their knowledge and confidence in mentoring to enable them to better support the development of coaching colleagues in a local setting.

For more information about this course please contact Liam Rooney.

Sam Griffiths - samantha.griffiths@thefa.com

Earl Taylor - earl.taylor@thefa.com

Dale Spragg dale.spragg@thefa.com

Gary Webb - gary.webb@thefa.com

Neil Cluxtonneil.cluxton@thefa.com

Tim Grahl
 - tim.grahl@thefa.com

Pete Lansleypete.lansley@thefa.com

Stewart Rowley - stewart.rowley@thefa.com

Edward Garnett - edgarnett@hotmail.co.uk

Alena Moulton
 - alena.moulton@thefa.com

Pete Bell
 - pete.bell@thefa.com

Get In Touch

Liam Rooney | Football Development Officer for Clubs, Leagues and Workforce

Phone: 01332 361422 (Option 1)

9am - 5pm Monday - Friday

Email: 
Liam.Rooney@derbyshirefa.com

The FA Coaching Bursary

An inclusive initiative designed to support more coaches from under-represented communities with a financial contribution to progress on their coaching pathways.


The FA Coaching Bursary

Related Articles

View All