The FA and McDonalds Grassroots Football Awards 2018

FA Grassroots Football Awards 2018 | Derbyshire Winners Announced

Derbyshire FA
Derbyshire County FA Names 10 Local Grassroots Football Award Winners

Derbyshire County FA has selected 10 local recipients of The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards 2018. 

The Grassroots Football Awards, known previously as The FA and McDonald’s Community Awards, recognise and celebrate the work of individuals and groups to instill The FA’s PRIDE values – Progressive, Respectful, Inclusive, Determination and Excellent – and make a positive difference in their club, league or local community. 

Following receipt of a record 2,904 nominations, The FA has worked alongside respective County FAs to select appropriate winners across 10 categories. The full list of Derbyshire County FA Grassroots Football Awards 2018 winners are:

  • Coach of the Year: Ben Hadfield (Heanor Town Juniors)
  • Community Project of the Year: Shardlow United SSE Wildcats Centre  
  • Charter Standard Club of the Year: South Normanton Colts FC
  • Charter Standard League of the Year: Derby Futsal League  
  • Grounds Team of the Year: Lee Watson (Clay Cross Town FC)
  • Match Official of the Year: Andy Wood
  • The Respect Award: Lynsey Parker (Derby Junior Football League)  
  • Supporter of the Year: Trish Jones, Rachel Bond and Lorraine Stoppard (South Normanton Colts FC)
  • Volunteer of the Year: Tommy Weightman (Derby Junior Football League) 
  • Young Volunteer of the Year: James Tew (Breaston Park FC)  

Greg Clarke, Chairman of The FA, said: "It’s been fantastic to see a record number of nominations for this year’s Grassroots Football Awards and to hear so many stories of dedication and commitment throughout the grassroots game. 

"The selection of winners chosen alongside Derbyshire County FA represents the diverse nature of football in this country and I would like to congratulate each and every one for their inspirational work."

Dawn Heron, Chief Executive Officer of Derbyshire County FA, said: “The calibre of candidates nominated shows the passion and drive from our volunteers to help the Derbyshire County FA run the grassroots game. Without the volunteers in the County the game would not be able to thrive and develop.”

Liam Rooney, Football Development Officer for Clubs, League's and Workforce, said: “We are fortunate to have so many fantastic clubs, leagues and volunteers who help us strive towards providing better and more opportunities for people to participate in football across Derbyshire.

“We know how much work goes into football on a weekly basis and The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards allow us to say thank you to those who dedicate so much time to the game across Derbyshire.

“We wish all our winners all the best and hopefully they can go all the way and pick up a national award later in the year.”

On 9th July, The FA’s National Panel will meet to select the national winners from the pool of County FA recipients and they will be formally announced at the 2018 FA Community Shield on 5th August.

Now the Derbyshire winners have all been informed of the fantastic news, they will receive an invite to Derbyshire County FA’s Annual Awards Evening, which will be held on Friday 7th September, to celebrate their success with other volunteers within the grassroots game in the county.

The evening is made possible due to the support of Derbyshire County FA’s Official Partners, Discount Football Kits, Halliday Lighting, Phoenix Sporting Goods, Replay Maintenance and Sportsguard.

To learn more about The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards 2018, visit

As well as our winners, we would also like to congratulate everyone who has been nominated for one of the ten award categories this year. Without your hard work, the game in this county simply would not exist, so from all of us here, thank you!

All Derbyshire Nominations

Coach of the Year

Ben Hadfield (Winner)    Ben Saxton    Bobby McColl    Christine Smith    Jack Grasby    James Doyle              Jason Moon    Keith Cosgrove    Kev Halton    Lucy Gascoigne    Luke Stow    Neil Parry    Obinna Maduike    Richard Smith    Russell Grey    Russell Turton    Scott Bradshaw    Sonia Woolley    Stephen Waite    Will Meredith

Community Project of the Year

SK Vipers    Shardlow United SSE Wildcats Centre (Winner)    Heanor Juniors

Charter Standard Club of the Year

Hasland CFC     Heanor Juniors FC    Mickleover Sports Juniors Football Club    MIckleover RBL    Newbold Community Football Training    South Normanton Colts Football Club (Winners)                Heanor Juniors    Tintwistle Athletic FC (Highly Commended)

Charter Standard League of the Year

Chesterfield Futsal League    Derby Futsal League (Winner)

Grounds Team of the Year

Lee Watson - Clay Cross Town FC (Winner)    South Normanton Colts FC Grounds Team

Match Official of the Year

Andy Wood (Winner)    Cameron Stott    Harry Jones

The Respect Award

Ben Saxton    Lynsey Parker (Winner)

Supporter of the Year

Stewart Fox    Trish Jones, Rachel Bond and Lorraine Stoppard (Winners)

Volunteer of the Year

Alan Ure    Ben Saxton    Claire Brandon    Ian Birley    James Oldham    Joshua Birley    Kieron Cox    Lee Stuart    Malcolm Gratton    Murray Walker    Steve Parker    Sue Bonnington                           
Tarsem Singh Cheema    Tommy Weightman (Winner)

Young Volunteer of the Year

Ben Saxton    Declan Fox    James Tew (Winner)    Millie Hodson

Related News

View All